Testimonials

“If you want great design ... if you have an eye towards both functionality and aesthetics ... you simply have to give David Shaw and his company Metaform, a call.  His designs are inspired, beautiful, and functional.  I would go as far as saying that I believe David understands what "iconic design" really means, and his dedication to working with us was just outstanding.  Our Waldo Networks' Waldo Health home health care platform was designed by David personally, and we are extremely pleased with how well it has tested with customers.  If you are a novice at design, don't worry - David is patient and he really knows how to convey his ideas so you can understand them.  If you are experienced at developing products, David can speak your language and his body of work suggests there is not much he *can't* design.  Highly recommended."

February 1, 2010

Top qualities: Great Results, Personable, Creative

 

Alan Weiss

Founder, CTO, COO

Waldo Networks, Inc.

“David Shaw is an exceptional designer, design leader, and program manager. David’s ability to deliver innovative, award-winning design solutions and at the same time meet challenging business requirements is second to none. Additionally, David’s technical skills and international experience make him an invaluable asset. On top of all this, David is a pleasure to work with. David’s enthusiasm for great design and authenticity inspires those that work with him. His ability to work successfully with diverse teams and individuals equals his talent as a designer. I hope to have the opportunity to work with David again in the near future. I highly recommend David to anyone who demands the very best.”

January 27, 2009

Top qualities: Personable, High Integrity, Creative 

 

Phil Yurkonis

Advanced Concept Development

Cloud Services Innovation Lab

Samsung Electronics America

"David Shaw is an accomplished industrial designer with enormous energy, creativity, talent, and vision. The timeless product design David created for us looks as sleek and modern today as it did nearly a decade ago. In addition to impeccable aesthetics, the ergonomic simplicity and brilliance of David’s designs have often appeared on the market years before the introduction of very similar looking products from companies such as Apple. This is a testament to his talent and passion for creating objects of lasting value, functionality, and beauty. It has been a great privilege and pleasure to collaborate with David and he gets my highest recommendation."
May 13, 2013

 

Top qualities: Great Results, Good Value, Creative


Mike Downes

Director of Marketing Communications
AirTight Networks

“David combined his extensive industrial design experience with considerable research of my product's needs and delivered a product concept that drew rave reviews at DemoMobile. He interacted extensively with the marketing and engineering teams, working collaboratively to ensure the design outcome effectively met our form and functional goals. I highly recommend David to anyone who needs an industrial design professional who knows how to work collaboratively with you as a client, then implement it for success.”

August 21, 2008



Top qualities: Great Results, High Integrity, Creative

Von Kenric Kaneshiro

Senior Product Manager / Product Marketing

Firetide

“Metaform came up with many unexpected, creative new design ideas that resulted in functional works of art and made our products different from competitors. It was not just styling but unique feature innovations. David worked quickly, efficiently, and seamlessly with the factory team in Taiwan/China. He possesses exceptional design skills and provided an extremely high level of service and personal attention to our projects.”

January 17, 2009



Top qualities: Great Results, On Time, Creative

Tayao Chin

Teckon Industrial Corporation

"I'm completely blown away!“ (While reviewing ID Phase 1 design concepts)

October 10, 2014

 

"I am delighted to be working with you too! Thanks for a wonderful team experience. Your enthusiasm is contagious and very fun! Excited to see what comes next!”

November 25, 2014

Melissa Allen Black

Founder + CEO

Honeycombers LLC

“It is rare to find people who are passionate about their work and also willing to share their industry knowledge with inventors with such encouragement. Those qualities automatically set David and Metaform apart from others in their industry. His well-considered product designs reiterate that sentiment. David’s got a great think-tank and a fantastic business approach. I feel incredibly lucky to have encountered such a person and highly recommend his services.”

November 4, 2008

Top qualities: Expert, High Integrity, Creative

 

Lauren Sharp

Inventor

“David is unique in the breadth and scope of his experience. Few Industrial Designers are so well versed in every step of the product creation process whether it's definition and conceptualization or execution and manufacturing. Not only was David able to provide innovative solutions that made our product more successful, but his fluency in Mandarin enabled him to follow through with our manufacturers better than we've ever been able to do on our own. On top of all that, he is also the nicest and most personable designer you'll ever find.”

October 19, 2008



Top qualities: Great Results, Personable, Creative

Mark Stanton

Senior Industrial Designer

Oracle Corporation

“I can say without a doubt that David Shaw is one of the best designers I have ever had the honor to work with. In addition to extraordinary sketching and ideation skills, David's imagination and enthusiasm inspires those around him to strive to achieve their best. David also has a fantastic work ethic and commitment to providing his clients the best possible solution. Lastly, and perhaps most importantly, David's level of honesty and sense of honor make working with or for him a rare experience that is hard to find today.”

October 7, 2008

Jeff Paladini

Industrial Designer

Sun Microsystems

“David is an excellent design innovator. He is an inventive artist with practical insights that make him a valuable business associate. He is remarkably dedicated and hard-working. I recommend him fully for any design project.”

September 23, 2008.

Top qualities: Great Results, High Integrity, Creative

Jaya Adapa

Principal Analytical Lead, Advertising Sales at Google

Formerly with Sony Computer Entertainment America

“I had the pleasure of working with David on multiple projects and found him to be energetic and prolifically creative with an extremely rounded set of skills, including CAD skills that struck me as very advanced when compared with peers. I would recommend David's skills and service to anyone looking for product design help at any level.”

September 2, 2008



Top qualities: Great Results, Personable, High Integrity 

Tom Fussy

Hardware Engineering Manager

Cisco Systems

“David Shaw is by far the best designer I've met and it amazes me how some companies tend to fall back to mediocre solutions even when they don't save money.”

October 8, 2008



Michael Downes

Vice President of Marketing Communications

Firetide

“David is both a skilled designer and an excellent business manager. His ability to step into the fire and perform immediately was the key to the successful launch of our product. His fluency in Mandarin Chinese was a unique and critical value when dealing with our Far East suppliers. I highly recommend David's services and I would be willing to speak to anyone regarding his talents.”

November 12, 2008

Jim Vasquez

Director

Hardware User Centered Design

Oracle

“David is an extremely talented designer. His knowledge is boundless and he is extremely creative. David is incredibly efficient and helped bring an aggressive, fast paced program to market without compromising the design in any way. The resulting design garnered several prestigious industry awards for one of our top selling flagship products. His fluency in Mandarin and Cantonese alone were priceless in communicating with our overseas suppliers. I would recommend David to anyone without question.” 

November 24, 2008

Top qualities: Great Results, High Integrity, Creative

Chris Frank
Senior Technical Manager, Industrial Design and Human Factors

Oracle Corporation

“Time and time again, Dave was the go-to design group for creativity, exceptional problem solving results and on time delivery. His creative contributions contributed in a superior product which generated measurable sales and profits for our company. His attention to detail and dedication to my projects were second to none, and it was a pleasure to work with such a professional. I would recommend him to anyone in need of quality design skills.”

July 31, 2008

Top qualities: Great Results, Expert, Creative

Jim Fong

Senior Designer

Lewis Galoob Toys

“As a student at San Jose State University one of my valuable experiences in the Industrial Design program came through the instruction of David Shaw as my 'Visualization I' mentor. His soft spoken manner and competency in visual communication through ideation made for a comfortable learning environment. I was provided with a strong basis for quickly getting my ideas out of thought form and onto paper; into a medium that can be communicated to others. David has helped me to build a strong foundation to continue to grow as a professional.”

August 4, 2008

Top qualities: Expert, High Integrity, Creative

Chris Wilson

Siemens Medical Solutions

"We have found David's creative abilities to be exemplary. He approaches the assigned tasks with great enthusiasm. His efforts always have exceeded our expectations in that he goes far beyond the norm in both quality and quantity of ideas. We have had several discussions about design and business philosophies. He expresses a personal philosophy that indicates a very thorough understanding and sensitivity to the role of Industrial Design in today's world. David has high a integrity and a sincerity in his view of our profession."

September 7, 1995


Russ Davis

President

Alto Design Group

“David Shaw worked with Gingko Design and brought a steady stream of enthusiasm, offered his unique point of view, and generated copious ideation to various design projects. As part of our team, he worked well with other members and contributed to the successful outcome of a variety of challenging projects. His approach demonstrates an excellent ability to reflect on the dynamics that a problem presents and to integrate our research and discussions into his solutions.”

September 23, 2008

Scott Yu

President

Gingko Design

“We really cherished having Dave work with us at Palo Alto Design Group. He's probably one of the most prolific designers I've worked with, full of energy and always positive attitude. He has the ability to come up with many variations and solutions to design problems. It's now that I'm not surprised he's become successful on his own and providing that same level of design that helped us on many projects. I highly recommend Dave to be a creative force and manage industrial design programs”

August 1, 2008

Tom Shoda

Industrial Design Program Manager

Hewlett Packard

“I set about this letter with a smile on my face which is not necessarily the case when writing a letter of recommendation. Dave Shaw was a student of mine in the late 80's. Occasionally you get a student that is a pure pleasure to deal with. I've had approximately 3,000 students in my time. I'd have to say Dave is in the top 1%. He gets top marks in all categories. He's bright, eager, talented, knowledgeable, has a great attitude, and he delivers top-quality work. Dave's a blue chip designer by anybody's definition. I could go on, but you probably get the idea. He's one of the best.”

October 31, 2008

Dave Fleming

Lecturer

Industrial Design

San Jose State University

"I’ve always been impressed with the high quality of your (David Shaw / Metaform's) work and total dedication to design.  The final BACtrack B70 product looks great.  As of today, it’s one of the top 3 best-selling breathalyzer on Amazon.com."

December 12, 2011

Keith Nothacker

President

BACtrack

"Great actionable advice and worth every penny. I highly recommend David for anyone who needs an expert opinion on product development."

December 3, 2018

Jackson Cunningham

Ecommerce Entrepreneur

"I would highly recommend a call with David (https://clarity.fm/metaform). He has a wealth of knowledge and experience, and it was very obvious within seconds of speaking with him. He was very well-prepared with previously written notes, and our conversation had a very clear direction. After our conversation, David even followed up with me and sent me his notes as well as a long list of extremely useful resources. The value from him far outweighed any costs of conversation. Thank you, David."

July 18, 2016

Jonathan Boyd

Entrepreneur

clickleverage.us

"David is absolutely brilliant! Great on point advice and information on all aspects of hardware product development. If you are like me - a hardware entrepreneur looking for advice - then he is your man. Whats also important is that David has a genuine desire to help. Thanks so much for the call (https://clarity.fm/metaform) and I look forward to speaking again."

November 19, 2016

Vladislav Chirtoca

Hardware Startup Entrepreneur

"David was extremely knowledgeable and personable. Our chat was highly productive (https://clarity.fm/metaform). I would recommend speaking to him at any/every stage of product development. He followed up with an astonishing email of additional resources."

August 23, 2017

Marshal Gaddis

Hardware Startup Entrepreneur

"I appreciate the amount of detail and thought that you (Metaform) put into the design (Fetch RTLS Locator). I imagine that the Tag design will have the same design quality."

March 20, 2010

Bob Yuan

President/CEO

TempSys, Inc.

"It was a pleasure talking to David (https://clarity.fm/metaform). Great guy who is willing to help you as much as he can."

March 2, 2017

Shehub Arefin

Alternative Transportation Entrepreneur

"Money well spent."

November 2009

Sam Fuller

Founder + CEO

Waldo Networks, Inc.

"Thank you for sharing your vast insight and personal experiences with me.  I walked away (from the initial meeting) overflowing with information and inspiration."

August 15, 2011

Gina Brodie

Founder + CEO

Topinz

"The initial consultation meeting was very informative.  I am very glad to know a very honest, experienced and successful designer and inventor. I strongly believe we can cooperate and work on more product inventions and designs and make success in the future."

March 16, 2009

Adil Atawulla

Founder

Elzynnet Digital, LLC

“David has great attention to detail while not losing sight of the big
picture.”
March 10, 2008

 

Pat Enright

Osprey Studios

copyright © 1990 - 2019 metaform product development. all rights reserved.  San Francisco Bay Area Silicon Valley Industrial Design Product Designers